Rural Georgia is a surprise in the FCC's data. Fiber reaches a larger share of homes in the state's small counties than in its four biggest ones, and the county files show who built it: local telephone companies and cooperatives such as Pineland Telephone Cooperative and Alma Telecom, which reach nearly every home in their counties. At the same time, the 5G home internet that rescues rural homes in other states reaches far fewer Georgia addresses.
That combination changes the advice. This guide uses our county-level FCC and Census data for all 159 Georgia counties to show what is really out there and what it costs.
What internet reaches rural Georgia homes?
Statewide, in the FCC data as of December 30, 2025, fiber reaches 60.5% of Georgia's 5.08 million homes and businesses at 100/20 Mbps or better, cable 83.9%, and licensed fixed wireless (5G home internet) only 35.5%. That fixed wireless figure is well below the national 51.2%.
Now split the state by county size:
| County group | Fiber reaches | Cable reaches |
|---|---|---|
| 108 smallest counties (under 20,000 locations each) | 63.9% | 50.7% |
| 4 largest counties (200,000 or more locations) | 61.5% | 96.8% |
Cable is what thins out in the countryside. Fiber does not. In 21 of those small counties, fiber reaches 90% or more of homes, including Bacon and Emanuel (about 100%), Candler (99.8%), Lincoln (99.5%), Dade (98.8%), and Crawford and Lanier (97.5%).
Which providers serve rural Georgia?
The share of Georgia homes each provider can reach, from the FCC state file:
| Provider | Type | Share of Georgia homes reachable |
|---|---|---|
| Hughesnet, Viasat, Starlink | Satellite | about 100% each |
| AT&T | Fiber and Internet Air (fixed wireless)[1] | 68.1% |
| T-Mobile | 5G home internet | 66.6% |
| Xfinity | Cable | 57.4% |
| Verizon | 5G home internet and Fios fiber[2] | 55.7% |
| Spectrum | Cable | 16.9% |
| Kinetic | Not specified in FCC file | 11.6% |
| Mediacom | Cable | 6.2% |
| Conexon Connect | Fiber | 4.6% |
| LiveOak Fiber | Not specified in FCC file | 1.9% |
The names at the bottom matter most for rural readers, and the county files add more: in Bacon County, Alma Telecom reaches 100% of homes and Conexon Connect 77%; in Candler and Emanuel counties, Pineland Telephone Cooperative reaches 99.7% and 99.9%. Companies like these build on roads the national brands skip, rarely advertise, and will not show up in a ZIP-code search on a big provider's site.
Which Georgia counties still have the fewest options?
Eleven counties have fiber at fewer than 30% of homes: Stewart (12.5%), Banks (14.1%), Chattahoochee (18.1%), Warren (20.7%), Calhoun (21.2%), Echols (22.1%), Richmond (24.6%), Polk (24.9%), Murray (26.2%), Clinch (26.7%), and Quitman (27.0%). In Stewart, Calhoun, and Echols, cable reaches no homes at all in the FCC data.
Twelve counties have neither fiber nor cable reaching half of homes; about 48,000 households live in them. And only 2 of 159 Georgia counties have licensed fixed wireless reaching at least half of homes, which is why "just get 5G home internet" is weaker advice here than in Texas or Ohio.
The Census side of the picture (ACS 2020-2024): 6.6% of Georgia households have no internet subscription, but in 52 counties the figure is 15% or more, and in Baker (35.7%), Quitman (33.1%), Glascock (32.2%), Stewart (31.4%), and Warren (30.9%) it is roughly one household in three.
What does each rural option cost in Georgia?
Published prices as of October 9, 2026. Prices vary by address, so use these as a scale.
- Cooperative or regional fiber: priced locally; not published in one place. Ask on the call. Where it reaches you, it is usually the steadiest option.
- 5G home internet: T-Mobile's Rely plan is $50 per month with AutoPay plus taxes and fees, no annual contract, with a 15-day test drive.[3] Given Georgia's lower fixed wireless reach, use the trial seriously and test in the evening.
- Starlink (low-orbit satellite): Residential service from $55 per month for the 100 Mbps tier and $85 per month for the 200 Mbps tier, unlimited data, no upfront hardware cost in select areas, 30-day trial.[4]
- Viasat (traditional satellite): Essentials from $39.99 per month for 12 months, then $69.99 per month; free standard installation; depending on the plan, no contract or a 24-month term.[5]
- Hughesnet: reaches every Georgia address in the FCC data; current prices were not available to us, so ask.
Is there help paying for rural internet in Georgia?
Two things. The federal Lifeline program takes up to $9.25 per month off a qualifying household's bill; you qualify with income at or below 135% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines or through SNAP, Medicaid, SSI, Federal Public Housing Assistance, or a Veterans Pension.[6]
Separately, the Georgia Broadband Program, the state office, publishes its own Georgia Broadband Availability Map and administers federal BEAD construction grants.[7] Those grants fund new lines, not monthly bills, but they are why an address that was "unserved" last year may be served this year. It is worth re-checking annually.
What to do next
- Enter your Georgia ZIP code above or call us with the full street address. We check the FCC data for cooperative fiber, cable, 5G home internet, and satellite at that address and read you today's prices.
- If a co-op or regional fiber company reaches you, ask about it first.
- If you must go wireless, sign up inside a trial window and test it at your busiest hour.
- If anyone in the home receives SNAP, Medicaid, or SSI, mention Lifeline on the call.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best internet for rural areas of Georgia?
Cooperative or regional fiber where it has been built, which is more common than most people expect: in the FCC data, 21 small Georgia counties have fiber at 90% or more of homes. After that, cable near towns, then 5G home internet with a confirmed signal, then low-orbit satellite.
Are there rural internet providers near me that I have not heard of?
Probably. Conexon Connect, Kinetic, LiveOak Fiber, and local telephone cooperatives such as Pineland and Alma Telecom serve many rural Georgia roads and seldom advertise. They appear in the FCC data by address.
What are the satellite internet plans in Georgia?
The same as everywhere: Starlink from $55 per month and Viasat's Essentials from $39.99 per month for 12 months, then $69.99, as of October 9, 2026.[4][5] Satellite reaches every Georgia address, so it is the fallback, not the first choice.
Is 5G home internet available in rural Georgia?
Less often than in many states. In the FCC data, licensed fixed wireless reaches 35.5% of Georgia locations, and only two counties have it at half of homes or more. Check the address and use the trial period.
Does Xfinity serve rural Georgia?
In the FCC data, Xfinity reaches about 57% of Georgia homes overall, concentrated in and around metro areas. In the smallest 108 counties, cable of any brand reaches about 51% of homes.
Sources
- Access from AT&T. Access from AT&T, accessed October 9, 2026 (confirms AT&T Fiber and AT&T Internet Air product types). ↩
- Verizon Forward discount. Verizon Forward discount page, accessed October 9, 2026 (confirms Fios and 5G Home product types). ↩
- T-Mobile 5G Home Internet plans. T-Mobile 5G Home Internet plans, accessed October 9, 2026. ↩
- Starlink Residential. Starlink Residential, accessed October 9, 2026. ↩
- Viasat Satellite Internet. Viasat Satellite Internet, accessed October 9, 2026. ↩
- FCC: Lifeline Support for Affordable Communications. FCC, Lifeline Support for Affordable Communications, accessed October 9, 2026. ↩
- Georgia Broadband Program. Georgia Broadband Program, accessed October 9, 2026. ↩
Written with AI assistance and checked against the sources listed; our data from FCC/Census as dated. FCC data as of December 30, 2025; Census ACS 5-year 2020-2024. Editorial policy